skip to Main Content

ACCA October 2021 Book Club – Dancing in the Streets: A History of Collective Joy

Tuesday, October 5 at 8:00pm AT / 7:00pm ET / 4:00pm PT

Our latest book is a celebration of gatherings! There is every indication from across the country that audiences can’t wait to return to live events, to experience music and dance and theatre and just about anything arts related as long as we can be together again. In this book, Barbara Ehrenreich explores the cultural traditions of collective joy throughout history. What draws people to festivals, dance rituals, rock and roll concerts and the recent carnivalization of sports? As with many things, understanding our past informs our future.

Dancing in the Streets explains what Netflix in our living room cannot provide – the common desire to dress up, head out and experience events together in a crowd!

Please join us for our next ACCA Book Club meeting on Tuesday, October 5 at 8:00pm AT / 7:00pm ET / 4:00pm PT.

Project Budget:

Back To Top