skip to Main Content

Arts Consultants Canada is a professional association of consultants who provide services to clients in the arts and cultural sector in Canada.

Established in 2006, ACCA has a growing network of members across the country working in both official languages. ACCA’s members work to improve the health, effectiveness and sustainability of the arts. They provide services to organizations and individuals in the performing arts, visual arts and crafts, museums and galleries, writing and publishing, and new media.

ACCA advances excellence in arts consulting by promoting the use of experienced consultants and by recommending qualifications, ethics and best practices. ACCA has defined a set of values to guide arts consultants and has ratified a Code of Professional Conduct to govern their activities.


ACCA members believe that the arts play a crucial role in the development of individuals and society. We are committed to:

High professional standards

  • consulting with sound principles
  • learning from experience to continually improve our performance
  • developing our skills and our knowledge of our field through research and professional development


  • treating all clients and fellow consultants with respect
  • upholding principles with regard to confidentiality and conflict of interest
  • being fully accountable for time, fees, and expenditures


  • participating actively to build a strong, supportive arts consulting community
  • acting as advocates to address issues that affect ourselves, our clients and the arts sector


The idea of forming a professional association of arts consultants emerged from discussions among a group of consultants in Toronto. These consultants wished to advance excellence and professionalism in the field for the benefit of both consultants and clients alike, with the ultimate goal of improving the organizational health and vitality of Canada’s arts sector.

From these preliminary discussions, Arts Consultants Canada/Consultants canadiens en arts (ACCA) was established in 2006 as a non-profit organization.


Full Members who were active in the formation of the organization

Greg Baeker
Janis Barlow
Linda Barnett
Don Bourgeois
Maria DeFalco
Susan Ditta
Sibyl Frei
Sylvain Gagné
Jenny Ginder
Jocelyn Harvey
Sherri Helwig
Nancy Hushion
Tim Leary
Ottie Lockey
Jane Marsland
Micheline McKay
Shadi Mogadime
Louise Poulin
Judith Slivinski
Catherine Smalley
Richard Smerdon
Nigel Wallace
Judy Wolfe
Back To Top